Seasons of the Christian Church

Seasons of the Christian Church:We are in the season of Lent

We are in the season of LENT in the Christian Church.

Lent-Six(6) Sundays between Ash Wednesday and Easter.

Began as a forty hour vigil, beginning on Good Friday. Then was extended to become a tithe of the year=36 days. Finally it was extended to forty week days, as Sundays are not included because the represent "little Easters", to commemorate Jesus' forty days in the wilderness. Ash Wednesday, when the palms of the prior year's Palm Sunday are burned and the ashes placed on the forehead of the people, begins this season.

Color: Purple

Theme: Reflection, Repentance and Renewal
This second season of preparation calls on us to examine our true relationship with God-not what others see, but what is happening on the inside.

We walk with Jesus from the start of His ministry. His Baptism, the Wilderness and walk with Him toward the Cross.

What have we done and continue to do that nails Him to the Cross?

Palm Sunday and Holy Week:
We do not, as a whole, address this period in worship, teaching and praise.
We should emphasize this last week of Jesus' earthly ministry.

MOving from Good Friday's to Easter's Joy
It is often difficult to help the people move through Jesus' Triumphant entry, the Cross of Calvary and the Resurrection(Easter Servce "A" may be helpful)